Album Review – Western Centuries’ ‘Weight of the World’

Western Centuries Weight of the World

I want to say something right up front with this review and that’s I wish I had reviewed this sooner. Western Centuries is an up and coming roots rock country group that a lot more people need to be familiar with. The group is composed of Cahalen Morrison, Jim Miller, Ethan Lawton, Rusty Blake and Dan Lowinger. Each of them come from uniquely different backgrounds and they mix them together to create quite the compelling sound. The three lead vocalists of the group in particular really bring something different to the table, as Miller was the co-founder of Donna the Buffalo, Morrison has a country background and Lawton is a punk rock songwriter. On paper this doesn’t sound like it’s that harmonious, but trusts me once you hear this group on their new album Weight of the World, it sounds absolutely brilliant.

The album’s title track welcomes us in with a heavy dose of pedal steel guitar. It’s a great precursor to the stellar instrumentation that is featured throughout this album. The naturally upbeat “Double or Nothing” is easy to find yourself tapping your feet along with as you listen. The song is about two former lovers calling each other up to get back together, only for them to spend the night together. One of them leaves the next morning and they’re right back to being lonely again. While Western Centuries say they’re a mixture of roots rock and country, there’s a lot of moments just stone cold country like on “Knocking ‘em Down.” It’s just an all-around solid tune that wouldn’t sound out of place in the heydays of country music. “What Will They Say About Us Now?” tackles relationships and having to deal with everyone around you. A couple “paints the town” and live their relationship while they know their friends and family around them whisper about them. They both wonder what everyone will say about them after what they’ve done now. It’s a great take on dealing with nosey people and dealing with outside voices.

One of my favorites on Weight of the World is “Philosophers and Fools.” It’s a classic heartbreak song that brilliantly describes the fall and aftermath of a failed relationship. As the group points out in the song, “a seamless love is the construct of philosophers and fools.” It’s one of the most refreshing and honest takes I’ve heard on love in a song in quite some time. The quieter and downtrodden “Sadder Day” follows. This song focuses on the word play between the phrase “sadder day” and Saturday. The song is about how every Saturday is another sad day for a man who’s down and blue and drinks his sorrow away. He tries the best he can to get over his broken heart, but he just can’t. From the lyrics to the instrumentation, this song has everything that you want in a drinking song.

One of the things Western Centuries captures so well on this album is that warm, classic feel of country songs of yesteryear and is perhaps showcased at it’s best on “In My Cups.” This is a more upbeat drinking song and upon the first listen the song feels like a long-lost friend you’ve just rediscovered. These are the best type of songs because you can instantly connect before you even get through the first listen of it. “Hallucinations” sees a relationship seesawing between over with and back on again. Every time this man thinks his woman has left him she’s back in his sight again, making him question if he’s hallucinating. He could be, but it’s up to you the listener to decide. Either way a hallucination is a perfect way to describe someone trying to get over heartbreak.

Western Centuries makes an ode to loving drinking with “Off the Shelf.” Don’t hear too many songs about being in love with drinking, do you? That’s what makes the opening to this song intriguing because you think it’s about a woman until it’s revealed to be the bottle. It’s pretty clever songwriting by the group and features some fantastic instrumentation to boot. The instrumentation continues to shine on “The Long Game.” If there’s one thing you won’t hear me complain about on this album it’s the instrumentation, as I find it be damn near perfect on each song. Western Centuries addresses urbanization and the love of rural life on “The Old You.” It’s about a man driving out to the countryside to see what’s left of it and bask in its greatness. It reminded him of whom he used to be, thanks to his rediscovery of the little bit of countryside still left. It’s a song that makes you ponder about your own little community you may have grown up in or still live in today. The romantic approach to the rural lifestyle in this song is something I know I can appreciate. Weight of the World ends with the rocking “Rock Salt.” Featuring plenty of fiddle throughout, it’s yet another foot stomper on an album full of them. The harmonies really shine on this song and it really puts a nice stamp on a fun album.

From the album cover to each and every song throughout, Weight of the World is a true throwback album. It’s an album that harkens you back to the golden days of country and roots music from decades before. The rich vocals and instrumentation blend together seamlessly. This album hooked me in from the first listen and made me wish I had reviewed it sooner. It’s something that I think any fan of country and roots music can come to appreciate. Western Centuries is one of the most talented groups I’ve come across in country music this year and if you don’t know them yet, you need to change that by listening to Weight of the World.

Grade: 8/10

5 thoughts on “Album Review – Western Centuries’ ‘Weight of the World’

  1. Zackary Kephart August 9, 2016 / 12:56 pm

    I took a listen to this album awhile ago but found it a little hard to get into. I’ll have to give it another listen since you gave it such a good review!


  2. OlaR August 9, 2016 / 5:01 pm

    Glad to have a band like Western Centuries. But i have the feeling i listened to 12 cover versions. Great cover versions for sure. My highlights: “Knocking ‘Em Down”, “Sadder Day” & “The Old You”. No vote.


  3. Tim August 9, 2016 / 5:46 pm

    Great record. But then I love Cahalen Morrison’s previous album and Jim Miller’s solo album is also a favorite. I bought it for Morrison and Dusty Rider (banjo great who also is in The Railsplitters) and Miller’s voice was a pleasant surprise. As sometimes is the case: This band show cases the strengths of each members and they work off each so well it never grows old

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Larry August 9, 2016 / 11:51 pm

    We heard them live at Roots & Vines Music Festival this past spring. Best country band I’ve heard in years.
    We will be seeing them again as soon as posible


Comments are closed.